Saturday August 9, 2008  In older times, it would take me days to find out what had happened at the World Science Fiction Convention.  Tonight, http://sfawardswatch.com led me to Cheryl Morgan’s Liveblogging of the Hugo and other awards.

I also tried Twitter, following Wim Lewis’s advice (on rec.arts.sf.*) and searching on “Hugo OR Worldcon.”  The results weren’t as good.

I checked http://sfsignal.com a few minutes after ll PM CDT, and they had the Hugo results from two twitterati whose twittering was better than what I’d seen earlier:  Karen Burnham (spiralgalaxy) and John Joseph Adams (johnjosephadams.)  I bookmarked Karen Burnham’s review website, http://spiralgalaxyreviews.blogspot.com .

Other spec-fic news sites didn’t yet have the award results.

The Worldcon business meeting produced a bit of controversy over Hugo categories.  And I expect to see outraged comments about at least one Hugo winner.  I stopped taking such controversies seriously after “Best Nonfiction Book” was won by a collection of Charles Addams cartoons.  (That category is now called “Best Related Book.”)

Leave a Reply

