Tuesday April 22, 2008  Comment at SF Signal: “…my opinion is that if one is reviewing books, one must have a near flawness understanding of English grammar.”  Spelling and punctuation sic.
http://www.sfsignal.com/archives/006568.html#more
___________
“By the late 1990s, I had largely decided that either the idea that people can find a community of others where they feel comfortable and at home was entirely a myth, or at minimum, that I was not something that I’d ever find. Then, in 2004, I started going to otherkin events – first to a meet-up in a nearby restaurant, and then going to Walking the Thresholds in Pennsylvania. In these events, I felt at home in a way that I still find difficult to describe or explain. After the first few minutes in any such event, my shyness almost completely vanishes and I feel as comfortable and relaxed as I do in a group of people who I all know well. In addition, I have met more than half a dozen people who I regard as very close friends (despite the unfortunate fact that most of them live much too far away). Since that time, I’ve gone to otherkin gathers of various sorts in various settings and the comfort remains a constant. It has nothing to do with the presence of certain specific people or the size of the group. It’s simply true that in a space where everyone identified as otherkin, I feel at home.”
http://heron61.livejournal.com/548040.html

[From Wikipedia:  “Otherkin are a subculture of people, primarily internet-based, who identify in some way as other than human. Otherkin often believe themselves to be mythological or legendary creatures, explaining their beliefs through reincarnation, having a nonhuman soul, ancestry, or symbolic metaphor.”]

There are groups in which I feel comfortable and at home.  But there isn’t any subculture in which I feel either comfortable or at home in all groups.  And no group in which I feel comfortable with everyone.

Leave a Reply

